Annual Sports meet


Puttur: The Annual sports meet of St Philomena Pre University University College Putur was held on November 18, 2016 at college grounds.  Mrs. Meenakshi Shanthigodu, President of the DK Zilla Panchayath inaugurated the sports meet. Mr Abdul Khadar, the Sub inspector of Sampya police station was the chief guest.
Inaugurating the sports meet Mrs. Meenakshi Shanthigodu said that sports are the inseparable parts of human life. So, students must show great interest in the sports.
Mr. Abdul Khadar spoke on the occasion and said that sports develop discipline in the students and helps to become the responsible citizens in the future. Sports help to develop both physical and mental fitness.
Very Rev. Fr Alfred J Pinto, the correspondent, presided over the function. He said sports help to develop discipline and creates healthy atmosphere of responsibility and transparency.
Mr. Leo Noronha, Principal of St Philomena College was the guest of honour. He honoured the talented athletes Siddanth S Shetty, Deekshith Divakar and Suhas P who were selected to compete in the national level Polo Championship from Karnataka team.
There was a more attractive march past from the students on this occasion. 2nd PCMB ‘B’ students got first prize for their best performance. 1st PCMC got second and 2nd SEBA ‘A’ got third place respectively
The Campus Director Rev. Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro, Men’s hostel warden Rev. Fr Rithesh Rodrigues and women’s hostel warden Rev. Sr. Rosy Saldanha were present on the Dias. The Principal                    Rev. Fr Vijay Lobo welcomed the gathering. The Physical Education Instructor Mr. Prakash D’souza proposed the vote of thanks. Lecturer Mr. Rahul compered the programme.
After the formal function the most awaited track and field events began. The students actively participated in both track and field events.
In the closing function, Rev. Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro expressed his compliments for the successful conduct of the sports meet. The Physical Education Instructor Mrs. Sowmyalatha proposed the vote of thanks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here